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CPA Calculator — Cost per Acquisition

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With this CPA calculator, we aim to help you to calculate the cost per acquisition of a business. This metric can help you understand the how much money the company is spending to acquire a customer. To understand more about this topic, please check out our Google AdSense calculator and social media calculator.

We have written this article to help you understand what cost per acquisition is and how to calculate the metric using the cost per acquisition formula. We will also demonstrate some practical examples to help you understand the concept.

What is cost per acquisition? CPA meaning

The CPA definition is the amount of money a business spends in acquiring a customer on average. This metric is typically used in the e-commerce industry, but can also be applied to other sectors in general. The CPA also helps you understand the effectiveness of your marketing efforts in getting customers.

This metric can be used in an aggregate way, in which you measure the average CPA across different marketing channels, such as display ads, paid ads, social media marketing, etc. This will tell you how the marketing effort is doing overall. You can also calculate it for each marketing channel individually to compare the effectiveness between them.

How to calculate cost per acquisition — Cost per acquisition formula

Good. Now you understand the definition of CPA. It's time to look at the example and understand how to calculate the cost per acquisition. We will take Company Alpha as our example:

  • Name: Company Alpha
  • Number of clicks: 200,000
  • Average cost per click: $5
  • Total attributed conversions: 4,000,000

We can calculate the CPA in three steps:

  1. Calculate the total ad spend.

    The first step is to determine the total ad spend. This is the total amount of money the business spends on advertising its products or services. It is defined as the number of clicks and average CPC:

    total ad spend = number of clicks × average CPC

    Hence, the total ad spend for Company Alpha is 200,000 × $5 = $1,000,000.

  2. Determine the total attributed conversions.

    The next step is to determine the total attributed conversions, defined as the number of customers or purchases converted using the ads spent above.

    The total attributed conversion for our example is 4,000,000.

    You can use our conversion rate calculator to facilitate yourself on this calculation.

  3. Calculate the CPA.

    The last step is to calculate the CPA using the cost per acquisition formula below:

    CPA = total ad spend / total attributed conversions

    Thus, Company Alpha's CPA is $1,000,000 / 4,000,000 = $0.25.

How to interpret the cost per acquisition (CPA)

Now that we understand the meaning of CPA, we can discuss interpreting the metric.

In general, you can use CPA in two ways:

  • You can calculate and compare the CPAs for different acquisition channels used in your business.

    For example, say the CPA for your Facebook ads is higher than the CPA for your Instagram ads. It either means that your target customers tend to be people who use Instagram more than Facebook, or the way you are currently working with Facebook ads is not good enough.

  • The CPA calculation can also help you understand the factors that impact your CPA the most.

    For example, if your high CPA is mainly due to a low conversion rate, your focus should be on improving conversion instead of lowering your cost per click (CPC).

FAQs

How do I calculate the CPA?

You can calculate the CPA in three steps:

  1. Calculate the total ad spend.

  2. Determine the total attributed conversions.

  3. Apply the cost per acquisition formula:

    CPA = total ad spend / total attributed conversions

What is total attributed conversions?

The total attributed conversions for an ad or campaign are the number of customers who actually made a purchase after seeing and clicking that particular ad or campaign.

Can I use CPA outside of digital marketing?

Yes, CPA is a metric that can apply to physical channels as well as digital channels. Even though CPA is mostly mentioned in the digital marketing space, this metric can be used to calculate the cost needed to convert a customer through a physical marketing campaign.

What is CPC?

The CPC is the abbreviation of a digital marketing metric called cost per click. This is the amount of money you have to pay the ad provider or platform for each user that click your ad on their platforms.

What is the cost per acquisition if $10,000 ad spend brings in 1,000 conversions?

The cost per acquisition (CPA) will be $10. You can calculate this by dividing the ad spend by the total conversions attributed to it.

Total ad spend

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